New Junior Minister of Tourism To Be Named This Week

By the end of this week, a new junior minister of tourism will be named and will take on the mammoth task of bridging the gap between the government and the youth in the country’s number one industry. Fifteen finalists from New Providence, Grand Bahama, Abaco, Andros, Exuma, Long Island, Bimini, Eleuthera, Cat Island, Berry Islands, Inagua, Mayaguana, San Salvador, Acklins and Crooked Island are scheduled to compete for the prestigious position. The competition will be held on Thursday, April 16 at 9:30 a.m. at Superclub Breezes Resort, Cable Beach. Competitors will deliver three to five-minute speeches on the topic “Tourism: Remaining Competitive in a Global Environment.” A “mystery” question will be presented at the final competition. Finalists will have one to two minutes to give a response. The winners will be chosen based on a 60 per cent score from the prepared topic and 40 per cent from the mystery topic. The Junior Minister of Tourism programme was launched in 2002 through the Ministry of Tourism’s Training and Education Department. The long-range goal of this enhancement program is to generate a talent pool of young professionals to service to the tourism industry. The victor of this competition will succeed Preston H. Albury High student Taliah Cooper of Eleuthera, who made history by becoming the first Family Islander to win.   Jr Minister   Director of Industry Training Ian Ferguson says the junior minister of tourism competition is vital to the tourism industry. “The Junior minister programme is important because it provides a platform for youth expression on tourism matters. I think it is important because it allows us identify the giftedness in young people. This person will speak on the Ministry of Tourism’s executive team behalf throughout the country and the region. He or she will advise the Minister of Tourism on matters behalf of the youth,” he said. The contestants for the competition are as followed:   Zoya Thompson Agape Christian School Abaco Michel Anderson Acklins Central High School Acklins Leketra Robinson Mangrove Cay High School Andros Bernette Wright R. N. Gomez All-Age School Berry Island Jaquan Brennen Louise McDonald High School Bimini Westinique Emmauel Arthur's Town High School Cat Island Lindicia Rolle Crooked Island High School Crooked Island Philip Moss North Eleuthera High School Eleuthera Rebecca Knowles L. N. Coakley High School Exuma Latess Bartlett Mary Star of the Sea Catholic Academy Grand Bahama Chrishauna Curry Inagua All-Age School Inagua Leschelle Shyann Pratt North Long Island High School Long Island Owyn Ferguson St. Anne's High School New Providence Johnnica Hall San Salvador Central High School San Salvador   The prizes are as followed: 1st PLACE: Patrick S. Bain Scholarship (tenable at the College of The Bahamas) All-expense paid four-day trip to CTO Youth Congress $500.00 cash prize and a trophy (School also receives $500.00 and a floating trophy) 2ND PLACE: $300.00 cash prize and a trophy (School also receives $300.00 and a plaque) 3RD PLACE: $200.00 cash prize and a trophy (School also receives $200.00 and a plaque)  
News Categories:

Related Stories

Game of Thrones co-executive producer on the list
The Bahamas Ministry of Tourism and Aviation has teamed up with Atlantis, Paradise Island to welcome top-rated daytime television show “Live with Kelly and Ryan” to the beautiful Islands Of The Bah
Wedding bells will be ringing throughout The Islands of The Bahamas this week as 16 Canadian couples say “I do”at 16 different venues on Nassau/Paradise Island, Exuma, Eleuthera, Abaco, Cat Island and Bimini at 1600 hours (4:00 pm) on November 16, 2016.