Press Release on Travel Restrictions as a Result of Omicron — A COVID-19 Variant

The Ministry of Health & Wellness advises the public that as a consequence of the identification of a new COVID-19 Variant of Concern (VOC)— Omicron (B1.1.529), the Government of The Bahamas has imposed travel restrictions on travellers from the following countries from midnight of 29 November 2021: 

  • Botswana; 
  • Eswatini (formerly Swaziland) Lesotho; 
  • Malawai; 
  • Mozambique;
  • Nambia; 
  • Zimbabwe; and
  • South Africa

Individuals not ordinarily residents (citizens, permanent residents, individuals with work permits) may be permitted to enter The Bahamas, but will be subject to mandatory quarantine for fourteen (14) days at their own expense and will undergo screening as mandated by the Ministry of Health & Wellness. 

This advisory applies to individuals who are vaccinated or unvaccinated. 

All other existing entry requirements, as outlined in the COVID Health Services Rules (2021), must be adhered to.

The Ministry of Health & Wellness strongly advises against travel to the countries listed above at this time. 

For additional information, call the Ministry of Health & Wellness at (242) 502-4700.

News Categories:

Related Stories

Day Five Rapid Antigen Testing No Longer Required for All Travellers 
NASSAU, Bahamas, 18 January 2022– The Bahamas Ministry of Tourism, Investments & Aviation has taken note of the updated travel advisory issued from the Centers for Disease Control and Preventio
NASSAU, Bahamas, January 04, 2022 – The Bahamas welcomes travellers to plan their next big adventure in 2022, with safety top of mind travel proto