Back to top

Ministry of Tourism to Name New Junior Minister of Tourism

NASSAU, Bahamas (3 May. 2023) – The Ministry of Tourism, Investments & Aviation will name a new Junior Minister of Tourism on Thursday, 4 May 2023, during the Ministry's Speech Competition Finals, the last qualifying component of the program. Some 14 students representing their respective islands: New Providence, Grand Bahama, Abaco, Acklins, Andros, Bimini, Cat Island, Crooked Island, Eleuthera, Exuma, Inagua, Long Island, Mayaguana, and San Salvador will vie for the prestigious title during the competition at Bahamas Harvest Church's west campus.

The Junior Minister of Tourism Program, organized by the Industry Training Department, was launched in 2002 and is now in its 19th year. Its long-range goal is to generate a talent pool of young professionals to service the tourism industry. 

Students will each deliver a three-to-five-minute speech on "Reimagining Tourism: 50 Years and Beyond." Finalists will also be expected to answer a mystery question and will be given one minute to respond. The mystery around mimics the format of the Caribbean Tourism Organization's (CTO) Youth Congress, where the winner will attend and debate with other Junior Ministers/Commissioners of Tourism from other Caribbean countries on tourism-related issues. 

Winners will be selected based on a 60% score from the prepared topic and 40 % from the mystery topic.

Samantha Cartwright, Coordinator of the program, said, "The Junior Minister of Tourism Program is important because it provides a platform for youth expression on tourism matters. The Junior Minister will speak on the Ministry of Tourism executive team's behalf throughout the country and the region. He or she will advise the Minister of Tourism on behalf of the youth."

This year's winner will succeed Kelvin Archer, the current Junior Minister of Tourism, and a St. Annes High School student in New Providence. Competitors for the 2023 title are Tianna Bootle, Patrick J. Bethel High School, Abaco; Aneko Smith, Acklins Central High School; Radisha Dawkins, Central Andros High School; Desirae Turner, Louise McDonald High School, Bimini; Marcus Thacker Jr., Arthur's Town Comprehensive School; McHala Smith, Admiral Ferguson High School, Crooked Island; Kezia Johnson, North Eleuthera High School; Travez Neymour, L. N. Coakley High School; Layla Leather, Grand Bahama Academy of Seventh Day Adventist; Angel Arnett, Inagua All-Age School; Jude Knowles Jr., N.G.M. Major High School, Long Island; Patton Collie, Mayaguana Comprehensive School; Jasmine Rolle, St. Anne's School, New Providence and D'Avyon Ashe, San Salvador Central High School, 

The prizes to be awarded to the winner include the Patrick S. Bain Scholarship (tenable at the University of The Bahamas), provided by the Bahamas Hotel & Tourism Association (BHTA); an all-expense paid trip to CTO Youth Congress and a $500 cash prize.

The winning school will also receive $500 and a floating trophy. The second and third-place winners will receive a $300 and $200 cash prize and an award, and their schools will receive cash prizes and a plaque. All students will receive a Junior Director of Tourism pin and certificate. 

Sponsors for this year's competition are Aliv, Cable Bahamas Ltd, Micronet Computers Limited, and Bahleaf Premium Teas, Islands of The Bahamas Logo store, who have donated prizes for the first, second, and third place winners. 

For more information, visit or  



Danielle Bodie

General Manager

Domestic Communications

Bahamas Ministry of Tourism, Investments & Aviation

News Categories